Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
American Public University System and West Virginia University are both private for-profit institutions — American Public University System in Charles Town, WV and West Virginia University in Morgantown, WV. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Charles Town, WV · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 40,074
Tuition: $8,400/year
Student-faculty ratio: 25.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Charles Town, WV with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Morgantown, WV · Public
Acceptance rate: 89.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 17,385
Tuition: $28,608/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 64.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Engineering
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Morgantown, WV with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | American Public University System | West Virginia University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 89.0% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1010–1220 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 20–26 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 40,074 | 17,385 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $8,400/year | $28,608/year |
| Average net price after aid | $9,597 | $15,634 |
| Graduation rate | 57.2% | 64.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,409 | $55,939 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 25.0:1 | 19.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private for-profit | Public |
| Location | Charles Town, WV | Morgantown, WV |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Security and law enforcement | Business and marketing, Health professions, Engineering |
American Public University System has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,597 vs $15,634). West Virginia University reports the higher graduation rate (64.7% vs 57.2%). American Public University System is the larger undergraduate campus (40,074 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
American Public University System vs Marshall University
Not reported vs 95.7% acceptance rate
American Public University System vs Salem University
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
American Public University System vs Fairmont State University
Not reported vs 98.6% acceptance rate
American Public University System vs Shepherd University
Not reported vs 96.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between American Public University System and West Virginia University
American Public University System has an acceptance rate of Not reported; West Virginia University is around 89.0%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
American Public University System tuition is $8,400/year. West Virginia University is $28,608/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool