Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Aurora University and School of the Art Institute of Chicago are both private nonprofit institutions — Aurora University in Aurora, IL and School of the Art Institute of Chicago in Chicago, IL. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Aurora, IL · Private
Acceptance rate: 80.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,974
Tuition: $29,170/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 60.3%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Public administration and social service
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Aurora, IL with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Chicago, IL · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,805
Tuition: $56,420/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 67.0%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, English
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Chicago, IL with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and English.
| Factor | Aurora University | School of the Art Institute of Chicago |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 80.8% | 77.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 900–1150 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 21–29 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 3,974 | 2,805 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $29,170/year | $56,420/year |
| Average net price after aid | $18,838 | $49,790 |
| Graduation rate | 60.3% | 67.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $58,709 | $40,151 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 18.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Aurora, IL | Chicago, IL |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Public administration and social service | Visual and performing arts, English |
School of the Art Institute of Chicago is more selective (77.5% vs 80.8% acceptance rate). Aurora University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($18,838 vs $49,790). School of the Art Institute of Chicago reports the higher graduation rate (67.0% vs 60.3%). Aurora University is the larger undergraduate campus (3,974 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Aurora University and School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Aurora University has an acceptance rate of 80.8%; School of the Art Institute of Chicago is around 77.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Aurora University tuition is $29,170/year. School of the Art Institute of Chicago is $56,420/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool