Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Bard College and Russell Sage College are both private nonprofit institutions — Bard College in Annandale-On-Hudson, NY and Russell Sage College in Troy, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Annandale-On-Hudson, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 52.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,414
Tuition: $66,436/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 67.6%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Social sciences, English
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Annandale-On-Hudson, NY with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Social sciences.
Troy, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 53.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,244
Tuition: $38,164/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 56.1%
Top programs: Health professions, Education, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Troy, NY with published program strength in Health professions and Education.
| Factor | Bard College | Russell Sage College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 52.1% | 53.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1270–1450 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 28–32 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,414 | 1,244 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $66,436/year | $38,164/year |
| Average net price after aid | $34,649 | $22,917 |
| Graduation rate | 67.6% | 56.1% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $46,543 | $58,316 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 9.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Annandale-On-Hudson, NY | Troy, NY |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts, Social sciences, English | Health professions, Education, Business and marketing |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (52.1% vs 53.3%). Russell Sage College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($22,917 vs $34,649). Bard College reports the higher graduation rate (67.6% vs 56.1%). Bard College is the larger undergraduate campus (2,414 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Bard College and Russell Sage College
Bard College has an acceptance rate of 52.1%; Russell Sage College is around 53.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Bard College tuition is $66,436/year. Russell Sage College is $38,164/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool