Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Bluefield University and Hollins University are both private nonprofit institutions — Bluefield University in Bluefield, VA and Hollins University in Roanoke, VA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Bluefield, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 59.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 614
Tuition: $26,770/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 17.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Public administration and social service
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Bluefield, VA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Security and law enforcement.
Roanoke, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 68.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 665
Tuition: $43,560/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 64.6%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, English, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Roanoke, VA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and English.
| Factor | Bluefield University | Hollins University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 59.3% | 68.0% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1150–1340 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 614 | 665 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $26,770/year | $43,560/year |
| Average net price after aid | $25,573 | $20,896 |
| Graduation rate | 17.8% | 64.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $48,896 | $40,075 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 8.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Bluefield, VA | Roanoke, VA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Public administration and social service | Visual and performing arts, English, Biological sciences |
Bluefield University is more selective (59.3% vs 68.0% acceptance rate). Hollins University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,896 vs $25,573). Hollins University reports the higher graduation rate (64.6% vs 17.8%). Hollins University is the larger undergraduate campus (665 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Bluefield University and Hollins University
Bluefield University has an acceptance rate of 59.3%; Hollins University is around 68.0%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Bluefield University tuition is $26,770/year. Hollins University is $43,560/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool