Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Brevard College and Johnson C Smith University are both private nonprofit institutions — Brevard College in Brevard, NC and Johnson C Smith University in Charlotte, NC. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Brevard, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 42.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 815
Tuition: $32,280/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Brevard, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Security and law enforcement.
Charlotte, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 45.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,244
Tuition: $21,300/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 34.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Charlotte, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
| Factor | Brevard College | Johnson C Smith University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 42.2% | 45.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 870–1220 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 16–26 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 815 | 1,244 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $32,280/year | $21,300/year |
| Average net price after aid | $23,509 | $20,894 |
| Graduation rate | 48.8% | 34.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $43,545 | $42,680 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Brevard, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Visual and performing arts | Business and marketing, Computer science, Biological sciences |
Brevard College is more selective (42.2% vs 45.2% acceptance rate). Johnson C Smith University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,894 vs $23,509). Brevard College reports the higher graduation rate (48.8% vs 34.3%). Johnson C Smith University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,244 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Brevard College and Johnson C Smith University
Brevard College has an acceptance rate of 42.2%; Johnson C Smith University is around 45.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Brevard College tuition is $32,280/year. Johnson C Smith University is $21,300/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool