Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt and California State University-Channel Islands are both public institutions — California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt in Arcata, CA and California State University-Channel Islands in Camarillo, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Arcata, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 98.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,612
Tuition: $20,850/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.5%
Top programs: Biological sciences, Social sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Arcata, CA with published program strength in Biological sciences and Social sciences.
Camarillo, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 94.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,013
Tuition: $19,759/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 51.3%
Top programs: Psychology, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Camarillo, CA with published program strength in Psychology and Health professions.
| Factor | California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt | California State University-Channel Islands |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 98.2% | 94.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 5,612 | 5,013 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $20,850/year | $19,759/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,171 | $9,849 |
| Graduation rate | 48.5% | 51.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $47,626 | $62,152 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 16.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Arcata, CA | Camarillo, CA |
| Largest program areas | Biological sciences, Social sciences, Psychology | Psychology, Health professions, Business and marketing |
California State University-Channel Islands is more selective (94.8% vs 98.2% acceptance rate). California State University-Channel Islands has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,849 vs $13,171). California State University-Channel Islands reports the higher graduation rate (51.3% vs 48.5%). California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt is the larger undergraduate campus (5,612 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt vs California State University-Monterey Bay
98.2% vs 97.4% acceptance rate
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt vs California State University-Stanislaus
98.2% vs 98.1% acceptance rate
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt vs California State University-East Bay
98.2% vs 97.4% acceptance rate
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt vs Sonoma State University
98.2% vs 93.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt and California State University-Channel Islands
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt has an acceptance rate of 98.2%; California State University-Channel Islands is around 94.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt tuition is $20,850/year. California State University-Channel Islands is $19,759/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool