Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
California State University-Channel Islands and California State University-Monterey Bay are both public institutions — California State University-Channel Islands in Camarillo, CA and California State University-Monterey Bay in Seaside, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Camarillo, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 94.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,013
Tuition: $19,759/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 51.3%
Top programs: Psychology, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Camarillo, CA with published program strength in Psychology and Health professions.
Seaside, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 97.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 6,819
Tuition: $20,379/year
Student-faculty ratio: 24.0:1
Graduation rate: 59.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Seaside, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | California State University-Channel Islands | California State University-Monterey Bay |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 94.8% | 97.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 5,013 | 6,819 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $19,759/year | $20,379/year |
| Average net price after aid | $9,849 | $13,663 |
| Graduation rate | 51.3% | 59.1% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $62,152 | $59,247 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 24.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Camarillo, CA | Seaside, CA |
| Largest program areas | Psychology, Health professions, Business and marketing | Business and marketing, Psychology, Computer science |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (94.8% vs 97.4%). California State University-Channel Islands has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,849 vs $13,663). California State University-Monterey Bay reports the higher graduation rate (59.1% vs 51.3%). California State University-Monterey Bay is the larger undergraduate campus (6,819 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
California State University-Channel Islands vs Sonoma State University
94.8% vs 93.4% acceptance rate
California State University-Channel Islands vs California State University-Bakersfield
94.8% vs 93.8% acceptance rate
California State University-Channel Islands vs California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
94.8% vs 98.2% acceptance rate
California State University-Channel Islands vs California State University-San Marcos
94.8% vs 95.1% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between California State University-Channel Islands and California State University-Monterey Bay
California State University-Channel Islands has an acceptance rate of 94.8%; California State University-Monterey Bay is around 97.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
California State University-Channel Islands tuition is $19,759/year. California State University-Monterey Bay is $20,379/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool