Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
California State University-Northridge and California State University-Fresno are both public institutions — California State University-Northridge in Northridge, CA and California State University-Fresno in Fresno, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Northridge, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 93.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 32,691
Tuition: $20,058/year
Student-faculty ratio: 25.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.0%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Communication
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Northridge, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
Fresno, CA · Public
Acceptance rate: 95.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 21,605
Tuition: $19,950/year
Student-faculty ratio: 22.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.0%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Fresno, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | California State University-Northridge | California State University-Fresno |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 93.5% | 95.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 32,691 | 21,605 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $20,058/year | $19,950/year |
| Average net price after aid | $7,021 | $7,000 |
| Graduation rate | 57.0% | 57.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $59,115 | $61,244 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 25.0:1 | 22.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Northridge, CA | Fresno, CA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Psychology, Communication | Business and marketing, Psychology, Social sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (93.5% vs 95.3%). California State University-Fresno has a lower average net price after grant aid ($7,000 vs $7,021). Both report a similar graduation rate (57.0%). California State University-Northridge is the larger undergraduate campus (32,691 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
California State University-Northridge vs California State University-Sacramento
93.5% vs 94.0% acceptance rate
California State University-Northridge vs California State University-Fullerton
93.5% vs 90.5% acceptance rate
California State University-Northridge vs California State University-San Bernardino
93.5% vs 93.7% acceptance rate
California State University-Northridge vs California State University-Dominguez Hills
93.5% vs 93.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between California State University-Northridge and California State University-Fresno
California State University-Northridge has an acceptance rate of 93.5%; California State University-Fresno is around 95.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
California State University-Northridge tuition is $20,058/year. California State University-Fresno is $19,950/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool