Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Capella University and Minnesota State University-Mankato are both private for-profit institutions — Capella University in Minneapolis, MN and Minnesota State University-Mankato in Mankato, MN. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Minneapolis, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 18,364
Tuition: $14,400/year
Student-faculty ratio: 41.0:1
Graduation rate: 20.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Minneapolis, MN with published program strength in Health professions and Psychology.
Mankato, MN · Public
Acceptance rate: 88.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 11,703
Tuition: $18,942/year
Student-faculty ratio: 21.0:1
Graduation rate: 53.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Mankato, MN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Capella University | Minnesota State University-Mankato |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 88.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1150 average |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 21–25 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 18,364 | 11,703 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $14,400/year | $18,942/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,956 | $19,139 |
| Graduation rate | 20.0% | 53.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $42,189 | $56,922 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 41.0:1 | 21.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private for-profit | Public |
| Location | Minneapolis, MN | Mankato, MN |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Psychology, Business and marketing | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education |
Capella University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($17,956 vs $19,139). Minnesota State University-Mankato reports the higher graduation rate (53.9% vs 20.0%). Capella University is the larger undergraduate campus (18,364 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Capella University vs Walden University
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
Capella University vs University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Not reported vs 79.8% acceptance rate
Capella University vs University of Minnesota-Duluth
Not reported vs 88.8% acceptance rate
Capella University vs University of St Thomas
Not reported vs 85.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Capella University and Minnesota State University-Mankato
Capella University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Minnesota State University-Mankato is around 88.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Capella University tuition is $14,400/year. Minnesota State University-Mankato is $18,942/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool