Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Central Connecticut State University and Sacred Heart University are both public institutions — Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, CT and Sacred Heart University in Fairfield, CT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
New Britain, CT · Public
Acceptance rate: 73.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,822
Tuition: $16,550/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.4%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Social sciences, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a public campus in New Britain, CT with published program strength in Business and marketing and Social sciences.
Fairfield, CT · Private
Acceptance rate: 65.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,087
Tuition: $50,404/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 73.5%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Fairfield, CT with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Central Connecticut State University | Sacred Heart University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 73.3% | 65.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 960–1190 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 23 average | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,822 | 7,087 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $16,550/year | $50,404/year |
| Average net price after aid | $16,857 | $46,174 |
| Graduation rate | 48.4% | 73.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $58,562 | $75,059 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | New Britain, CT | Fairfield, CT |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Social sciences, Computer science | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences |
Sacred Heart University is more selective (65.4% vs 73.3% acceptance rate). Central Connecticut State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,857 vs $46,174). Sacred Heart University reports the higher graduation rate (73.5% vs 48.4%). Central Connecticut State University is the larger undergraduate campus (7,822 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Central Connecticut State University vs Quinnipiac University
73.3% vs 72.2% acceptance rate
Central Connecticut State University vs Eastern Connecticut State University
73.3% vs 83.0% acceptance rate
Central Connecticut State University vs University of Connecticut-Stamford
73.3% vs 83.0% acceptance rate
Central Connecticut State University vs Western Connecticut State University
73.3% vs 87.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Central Connecticut State University and Sacred Heart University
Central Connecticut State University has an acceptance rate of 73.3%; Sacred Heart University is around 65.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Central Connecticut State University tuition is $16,550/year. Sacred Heart University is $50,404/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool