Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Central Washington University and Eastern Washington University are both public institutions — Central Washington University in Ellensburg, WA and Eastern Washington University in Cheney, WA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Ellensburg, WA · Public
Acceptance rate: 90.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,833
Tuition: $27,526/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 53.6%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Education, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Ellensburg, WA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Education.
Cheney, WA · Public
Acceptance rate: 90.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 6,222
Tuition: $25,959/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 43.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Education, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Cheney, WA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Education.
| Factor | Central Washington University | Eastern Washington University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 90.6% | 90.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,833 | 6,222 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $27,526/year | $25,959/year |
| Average net price after aid | $18,476 | $13,886 |
| Graduation rate | 53.6% | 43.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $61,580 | $57,897 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 18.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Ellensburg, WA | Cheney, WA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Education, Psychology | Business and marketing, Education, Psychology |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (90.6% vs 90.8%). Eastern Washington University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,886 vs $18,476). Central Washington University reports the higher graduation rate (53.6% vs 43.5%). Central Washington University is the larger undergraduate campus (7,833 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Central Washington University vs University of Washington-Bothell Campus
90.6% vs 90.6% acceptance rate
Central Washington University vs Western Washington University
90.6% vs 93.3% acceptance rate
Central Washington University vs Washington State University
90.6% vs 86.6% acceptance rate
Central Washington University vs University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
90.6% vs 82.5% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Central Washington University and Eastern Washington University
Central Washington University has an acceptance rate of 90.6%; Eastern Washington University is around 90.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Central Washington University tuition is $27,526/year. Eastern Washington University is $25,959/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool