Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science and Scripps College are both private nonprofit institutions — Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, CA and Scripps College in Claremont, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Los Angeles, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 38.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 282
Tuition: $23,000/year
Student-faculty ratio: 4.0:1
Graduation rate: 29.6%
Top programs: Health professions, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Los Angeles, CA with published program strength in Health professions and Biological sciences.
Claremont, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 38.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,113
Tuition: $65,950/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 82.5%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Claremont, CA with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
| Factor | Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science | Scripps College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 38.7% | 38.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1440–1540 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 31–34 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 282 | 1,113 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $23,000/year | $65,950/year |
| Average net price after aid | $35,558 | $36,294 |
| Graduation rate | 29.6% | 82.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $83,438 | $77,539 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 4.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Los Angeles, CA | Claremont, CA |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Biological sciences, Psychology | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Visual and performing arts |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (38.7% vs 38.3%). Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science has a lower average net price after grant aid ($35,558 vs $36,294). Scripps College reports the higher graduation rate (82.5% vs 29.6%). Scripps College is the larger undergraduate campus (1,113 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science vs SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary
38.7% vs 40.7% acceptance rate
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science vs Pacific Oaks College
38.7% vs 34.4% acceptance rate
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science vs Soka University of America
38.7% vs 43.4% acceptance rate
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science vs Gnomon
38.7% vs 41.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science and Scripps College
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science has an acceptance rate of 38.7%; Scripps College is around 38.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science tuition is $23,000/year. Scripps College is $65,950/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool