Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Connecticut College and United States Coast Guard Academy are both private nonprofit institutions — Connecticut College in New London, CT and United States Coast Guard Academy in New London, CT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
New London, CT · Private
Acceptance rate: 37.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,937
Tuition: $67,242/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 82.0%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in New London, CT with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
New London, CT · Public
Acceptance rate: 22.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,108
Tuition: Not reported
Student-faculty ratio: 7.0:1
Graduation rate: 92.7%
Top programs: Engineering, Social sciences, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in New London, CT with published program strength in Engineering and Social sciences.
| Factor | Connecticut College | United States Coast Guard Academy |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 37.0% | 22.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1350–1500 |
| 1240–1400 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 30–33 | 27–32 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,937 | 1,108 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $67,242/year | Not reported |
| Average net price after aid | $36,175 | Not reported |
| Graduation rate | 82.0% | 92.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $75,001 | Not reported |
| Student-faculty ratio | 9.0:1 | 7.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Public |
| Location | New London, CT | New London, CT |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology | Engineering, Social sciences, Business and marketing |
United States Coast Guard Academy is more selective (22.4% vs 37.0% acceptance rate). United States Coast Guard Academy reports the higher graduation rate (92.7% vs 82.0%). Connecticut College is the larger undergraduate campus (1,937 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Connecticut College and United States Coast Guard Academy
Connecticut College has an acceptance rate of 37.0%; United States Coast Guard Academy is around 22.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Connecticut College tuition is $67,242/year. United States Coast Guard Academy is Not reported. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool