Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Coppin State University and University of Maryland-College Park are both public institutions — Coppin State University in Baltimore, MD and University of Maryland-College Park in College Park, MD. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Baltimore, MD · Public
Acceptance rate: 45.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,844
Tuition: $14,024/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 26.2%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Baltimore, MD with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
College Park, MD · Public
Acceptance rate: 44.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 30,760
Tuition: $41,186/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 88.6%
Top programs: Computer science, Business and marketing, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in College Park, MD with published program strength in Computer science and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Coppin State University | University of Maryland-College Park |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 45.8% | 44.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 880–1020 |
| 1400–1530 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 32–35 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,844 | 30,760 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $14,024/year | $41,186/year |
| Average net price after aid | $9,977 | $15,678 |
| Graduation rate | 26.2% | 88.6% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $46,490 | $82,860 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 17.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Baltimore, MD | College Park, MD |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement | Computer science, Business and marketing, Social sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (45.8% vs 44.8%). Coppin State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,977 vs $15,678). University of Maryland-College Park reports the higher graduation rate (88.6% vs 26.2%). University of Maryland-College Park is the larger undergraduate campus (30,760 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Coppin State University vs Washington Adventist University
45.8% vs 46.2% acceptance rate
Coppin State University vs Washington College
45.8% vs 56.9% acceptance rate
Coppin State University vs St. John's College
45.8% vs 55.2% acceptance rate
Coppin State University vs University of Maryland Baltimore
45.8% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Coppin State University and University of Maryland-College Park
Coppin State University has an acceptance rate of 45.8%; University of Maryland-College Park is around 44.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Coppin State University tuition is $14,024/year. University of Maryland-College Park is $41,186/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool