Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Curtis Institute of Music and University of Pennsylvania are both private nonprofit institutions — Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, PA and University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Philadelphia, PA · Private
Acceptance rate: 4.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 109
Tuition: Not reported
Student-faculty ratio: 2.0:1
Graduation rate: 96.2%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Philadelphia, PA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts.
Philadelphia, PA · Private
Acceptance rate: 5.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 10,650
Tuition: $68,686/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 96.5%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Philadelphia, PA with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
| Factor | Curtis Institute of Music | University of Pennsylvania |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 4.6% | 5.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1510–1570 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 34–36 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 109 | 10,650 |
| Out-of-state tuition | Not reported | $68,686/year |
| Average net price after aid | Not reported | $28,699 |
| Graduation rate | 96.2% | 96.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | Not reported | $111,371 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 2.0:1 | 8.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Philadelphia, PA | Philadelphia, PA |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Health professions |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (4.6% vs 5.4%). Both report a similar graduation rate (96.2%). University of Pennsylvania is the larger undergraduate campus (10,650 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Curtis Institute of Music vs Swarthmore College
4.6% vs 7.5% acceptance rate
Curtis Institute of Music vs Haverford College
4.6% vs 12.4% acceptance rate
Curtis Institute of Music vs Gratz College
4.6% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Curtis Institute of Music vs Carnegie Mellon University
4.6% vs 11.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Curtis Institute of Music and University of Pennsylvania
Curtis Institute of Music has an acceptance rate of 4.6%; University of Pennsylvania is around 5.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Curtis Institute of Music tuition is Not reported. University of Pennsylvania is $68,686/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool