Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Delaware State University and Wilmington University are both public institutions — Delaware State University in Dover, DE and Wilmington University in New Castle, DE. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Dover, DE · Public
Acceptance rate: 46.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,398
Tuition: $20,634/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 39.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Dover, DE with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
New Castle, DE · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 7,906
Tuition: $12,630/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 19.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in New Castle, DE with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
| Factor | Delaware State University | Wilmington University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 46.6% | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 800–1020 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 20–24 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 4,398 | 7,906 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $20,634/year | $12,630/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,910 | $15,644 |
| Graduation rate | 39.1% | 19.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $49,307 | $53,844 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 17.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Dover, DE | New Castle, DE |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences | Business and marketing, Computer science, Health professions |
Delaware State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,910 vs $15,644). Delaware State University reports the higher graduation rate (39.1% vs 19.8%). Wilmington University is the larger undergraduate campus (7,906 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Delaware State University vs University of Delaware
46.6% vs 70.6% acceptance rate
Delaware State University vs Strayer University-Delaware
46.6% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Delaware State University vs Grambling State University
46.6% vs 44.9% acceptance rate
Delaware State University vs Alcorn State University
46.6% vs 45.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Delaware State University and Wilmington University
Delaware State University has an acceptance rate of 46.6%; Wilmington University is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Delaware State University tuition is $20,634/year. Wilmington University is $12,630/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool