Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Dickinson State University and West Virginia University Institute of Technology are both public institutions — Dickinson State University in Dickinson, ND and West Virginia University Institute of Technology in Beckley, WV. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Dickinson, ND · Public
Acceptance rate: 37.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,090
Tuition: $9,118/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 50.6%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Education, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Dickinson, ND with published program strength in Business and marketing and Education.
Beckley, WV · Public
Acceptance rate: 36.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 981
Tuition: $21,072/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.0%
Top programs: Engineering, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Beckley, WV with published program strength in Engineering and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Dickinson State University | West Virginia University Institute of Technology |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 37.0% | 36.7% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 880–1120 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 19 average | 19–23 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,090 | 981 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $9,118/year | $21,072/year |
| Average net price after aid | $14,092 | $9,337 |
| Graduation rate | 50.6% | 33.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $50,720 | $55,939 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Dickinson, ND | Beckley, WV |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Education, Health professions | Engineering, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (37.0% vs 36.7%). West Virginia University Institute of Technology has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,337 vs $14,092). Dickinson State University reports the higher graduation rate (50.6% vs 33.0%). Dickinson State University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,090 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Dickinson State University vs Mayville State University
37.0% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Dickinson State University vs Trinity Bible College and Graduate School
37.0% vs 25.8% acceptance rate
Dickinson State University vs Minot State University
37.0% vs 64.6% acceptance rate
Dickinson State University vs United States Merchant Marine Academy
37.0% vs 34.2% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Dickinson State University and West Virginia University Institute of Technology
Dickinson State University has an acceptance rate of 37.0%; West Virginia University Institute of Technology is around 36.7%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Dickinson State University tuition is $9,118/year. West Virginia University Institute of Technology is $21,072/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool