Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University and The University of Tampa are both public institutions — Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University in Tallahassee, FL and The University of Tampa in Tampa, FL. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Tallahassee, FL · Public
Acceptance rate: 20.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,582
Tuition: $17,725/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 53.3%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Tallahassee, FL with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Tampa, FL · Private
Acceptance rate: 40.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 10,572
Tuition: $34,408/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 63.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Tampa, FL with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University | The University of Tampa |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 20.6% | 40.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1030–1180 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 20–24 | 26 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,582 | 10,572 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $17,725/year | $34,408/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,739 | $36,211 |
| Graduation rate | 53.3% | 63.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,349 | $59,436 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 17.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Tallahassee, FL | Tampa, FL |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Psychology | Business and marketing, Health professions, Social sciences |
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University is more selective (20.6% vs 40.3% acceptance rate). Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,739 vs $36,211). The University of Tampa reports the higher graduation rate (63.7% vs 53.3%). The University of Tampa is the larger undergraduate campus (10,572 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University vs University of Miami
20.6% vs 18.9% acceptance rate
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University vs Florida State University
20.6% vs 24.2% acceptance rate
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University vs University of Florida
20.6% vs 24.2% acceptance rate
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University vs Ana G. Mendez University
20.6% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University and The University of Tampa
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University has an acceptance rate of 20.6%; The University of Tampa is around 40.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University tuition is $17,725/year. The University of Tampa is $34,408/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool