Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Georgetown University and George Washington University are both private nonprofit institutions — Georgetown University in Washington, DC and George Washington University in Washington, DC. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Washington, DC · Private
Acceptance rate: 12.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,569
Tuition: $68,017/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 94.8%
Top programs: Social sciences, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Washington, DC with published program strength in Social sciences and Business and marketing.
Washington, DC · Private
Acceptance rate: 47.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 11,182
Tuition: $67,710/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 84.0%
Top programs: Social sciences, Business and marketing, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Washington, DC with published program strength in Social sciences and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Georgetown University | George Washington University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 12.9% | 47.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1390–1550 |
| 1350–1500 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 31–35 | 31–34 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,569 | 11,182 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $68,017/year | $67,710/year |
| Average net price after aid | $40,815 | $36,586 |
| Graduation rate | 94.8% | 84.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $103,494 | $90,873 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 11.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Washington, DC | Washington, DC |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Business and marketing, Biological sciences | Social sciences, Business and marketing, Health professions |
Georgetown University is more selective (12.9% vs 47.1% acceptance rate). George Washington University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($36,586 vs $40,815). Georgetown University reports the higher graduation rate (94.8% vs 84.0%). George Washington University is the larger undergraduate campus (11,182 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Georgetown University vs Strayer University-Global Region
12.9% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Georgetown University vs Howard University
12.9% vs 41.3% acceptance rate
Georgetown University vs NewU University
12.9% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Georgetown University vs Washington University in St Louis
12.9% vs 12.1% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Georgetown University and George Washington University
Georgetown University has an acceptance rate of 12.9%; George Washington University is around 47.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Georgetown University tuition is $68,017/year. George Washington University is $67,710/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool