Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Hampton University and Bluefield University are both private nonprofit institutions — Hampton University in Hampton, VA and Bluefield University in Bluefield, VA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Hampton, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 62.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,727
Tuition: $30,592/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Hampton, VA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
Bluefield, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 59.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 614
Tuition: $26,770/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 17.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Public administration and social service
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Bluefield, VA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Security and law enforcement.
| Factor | Hampton University | Bluefield University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 62.3% | 59.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 790–1090 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 13–22 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 3,727 | 614 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $30,592/year | $26,770/year |
| Average net price after aid | $25,319 | $25,573 |
| Graduation rate | 57.2% | 17.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $59,159 | $48,896 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Hampton, VA | Bluefield, VA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Psychology, Health professions | Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Public administration and social service |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (62.3% vs 59.3%). Hampton University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($25,319 vs $25,573). Hampton University reports the higher graduation rate (57.2% vs 17.8%). Hampton University is the larger undergraduate campus (3,727 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Hampton University and Bluefield University
Hampton University has an acceptance rate of 62.3%; Bluefield University is around 59.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Hampton University tuition is $30,592/year. Bluefield University is $26,770/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool