Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Hobart William Smith Colleges and Daemen University are both private nonprofit institutions — Hobart William Smith Colleges in Geneva, NY and Daemen University in Amherst, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Geneva, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 64.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,786
Tuition: $65,117/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 77.3%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Geneva, NY with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
Amherst, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 68.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,643
Tuition: $35,218/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 58.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Amherst, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Hobart William Smith Colleges | Daemen University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 64.0% | 68.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1190–1385 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 28–32 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,786 | 1,643 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $65,117/year | $35,218/year |
| Average net price after aid | $31,563 | $18,693 |
| Graduation rate | 77.3% | 58.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $68,831 | $61,808 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 11.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Geneva, NY | Amherst, NY |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology | Business and marketing, Health professions, Visual and performing arts |
Hobart William Smith Colleges is more selective (64.0% vs 68.3% acceptance rate). Daemen University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($18,693 vs $31,563). Hobart William Smith Colleges reports the higher graduation rate (77.3% vs 58.9%). Hobart William Smith Colleges is the larger undergraduate campus (1,786 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Hobart William Smith Colleges vs Dominican University New York
64.0% vs 63.3% acceptance rate
Hobart William Smith Colleges vs Sarah Lawrence College
64.0% vs 61.7% acceptance rate
Hobart William Smith Colleges vs St. John Fisher University
64.0% vs 66.4% acceptance rate
Hobart William Smith Colleges vs Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
64.0% vs 63.5% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Hobart William Smith Colleges and Daemen University
Hobart William Smith Colleges has an acceptance rate of 64.0%; Daemen University is around 68.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Hobart William Smith Colleges tuition is $65,117/year. Daemen University is $35,218/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool