Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Idaho State University and The College of Idaho are both public institutions — Idaho State University in Pocatello, ID and The College of Idaho in Caldwell, ID. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Pocatello, ID · Public
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 7,583
Tuition: $27,720/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 39.4%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Pocatello, ID with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Caldwell, ID · Private
Acceptance rate: 49.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,041
Tuition: $37,845/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 62.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Caldwell, ID with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
| Factor | Idaho State University | The College of Idaho |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 49.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1070–1280 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 23–31 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,583 | 1,041 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $27,720/year | $37,845/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,193 | $19,481 |
| Graduation rate | 39.4% | 62.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $45,608 | $48,473 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Pocatello, ID | Caldwell, ID |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Social sciences | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology |
Idaho State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,193 vs $19,481). The College of Idaho reports the higher graduation rate (62.5% vs 39.4%). Idaho State University is the larger undergraduate campus (7,583 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Idaho State University vs University of Idaho
Not reported vs 75.5% acceptance rate
Idaho State University vs Boise State University
Not reported vs 87.2% acceptance rate
Idaho State University vs Lewis-Clark State College
Not reported vs 87.7% acceptance rate
Idaho State University vs Northwest Nazarene University
Not reported vs 64.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Idaho State University and The College of Idaho
Idaho State University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; The College of Idaho is around 49.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Idaho State University tuition is $27,720/year. The College of Idaho is $37,845/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool