Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Indiana State University and Ball State University are both public institutions — Indiana State University in Terre Haute, IN and Ball State University in Muncie, IN. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Terre Haute, IN · Public
Acceptance rate: 80.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 6,188
Tuition: $22,322/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 42.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Terre Haute, IN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Muncie, IN · Public
Acceptance rate: 85.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 13,988
Tuition: $29,630/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 62.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Education, Communication
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Muncie, IN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Education.
| Factor | Indiana State University | Ball State University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 80.8% | 85.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1080–1260 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 20–24 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 6,188 | 13,988 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $22,322/year | $29,630/year |
| Average net price after aid | $10,873 | $14,940 |
| Graduation rate | 42.9% | 62.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $48,387 | $51,833 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Terre Haute, IN | Muncie, IN |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education | Business and marketing, Education, Communication |
Indiana State University is more selective (80.8% vs 85.5% acceptance rate). Indiana State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($10,873 vs $14,940). Ball State University reports the higher graduation rate (62.3% vs 42.9%). Ball State University is the larger undergraduate campus (13,988 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Indiana State University vs Purdue University Fort Wayne
80.8% vs 83.9% acceptance rate
Indiana State University vs Indiana University-South Bend
80.8% vs 83.8% acceptance rate
Indiana State University vs Indiana University-Southeast
80.8% vs 84.5% acceptance rate
Indiana State University vs Indiana University-Indianapolis
80.8% vs 76.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Indiana State University and Ball State University
Indiana State University has an acceptance rate of 80.8%; Ball State University is around 85.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Indiana State University tuition is $22,322/year. Ball State University is $29,630/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool