Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Johnson C Smith University and Brevard College are both private nonprofit institutions — Johnson C Smith University in Charlotte, NC and Brevard College in Brevard, NC. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Charlotte, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 45.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,244
Tuition: $21,300/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 34.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Charlotte, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
Brevard, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 42.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 815
Tuition: $32,280/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Brevard, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Security and law enforcement.
| Factor | Johnson C Smith University | Brevard College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 45.2% | 42.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 870–1220 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 16–26 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,244 | 815 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $21,300/year | $32,280/year |
| Average net price after aid | $20,894 | $23,509 |
| Graduation rate | 34.3% | 48.8% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $42,680 | $43,545 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Brevard, NC |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Computer science, Biological sciences | Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement, Visual and performing arts |
Brevard College is more selective (42.2% vs 45.2% acceptance rate). Johnson C Smith University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,894 vs $23,509). Brevard College reports the higher graduation rate (48.8% vs 34.3%). Johnson C Smith University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,244 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Johnson C Smith University vs Carolina University
45.2% vs 39.5% acceptance rate
Johnson C Smith University vs Bennett College
45.2% vs 50.7% acceptance rate
Johnson C Smith University vs Livingstone College
45.2% vs 59.3% acceptance rate
Johnson C Smith University vs Queens University of Charlotte
45.2% vs 62.1% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Johnson C Smith University and Brevard College
Johnson C Smith University has an acceptance rate of 45.2%; Brevard College is around 42.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Johnson C Smith University tuition is $21,300/year. Brevard College is $32,280/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool