Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Linfield University and Willamette University are both private nonprofit institutions — Linfield University in McMinnville, OR and Willamette University in Salem, OR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
McMinnville, OR · Private
Acceptance rate: 85.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,621
Tuition: $50,850/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 70.5%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in McMinnville, OR with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Salem, OR · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,592
Tuition: $51,156/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 71.2%
Top programs: Social sciences, Physical sciences, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Salem, OR with published program strength in Social sciences and Physical sciences.
| Factor | Linfield University | Willamette University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 85.2% | 77.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1240–1440 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 28–33 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,621 | 1,592 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $50,850/year | $51,156/year |
| Average net price after aid | $26,536 | $25,121 |
| Graduation rate | 70.5% | 71.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $78,638 | $56,911 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | McMinnville, OR | Salem, OR |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Education | Social sciences, Physical sciences, Visual and performing arts |
Willamette University is more selective (77.1% vs 85.2% acceptance rate). Willamette University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($25,121 vs $26,536). Both report a similar graduation rate (70.5%). Linfield University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,621 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Linfield University and Willamette University
Linfield University has an acceptance rate of 85.2%; Willamette University is around 77.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Linfield University tuition is $50,850/year. Willamette University is $51,156/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool