Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Livingstone College and Chowan University are both private nonprofit institutions — Livingstone College in Salisbury, NC and Chowan University in Murfreesboro, NC. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Salisbury, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 59.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 924
Tuition: $18,296/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 28.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Salisbury, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
Murfreesboro, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 68.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 603
Tuition: $27,910/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 29.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Murfreesboro, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | Livingstone College | Chowan University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 59.3% | 68.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 14 average | 18 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 924 | 603 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $18,296/year | $27,910/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,479 | $14,086 |
| Graduation rate | 28.2% | 29.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $32,600 | $38,412 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Salisbury, NC | Murfreesboro, NC |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology | Business and marketing, Psychology, Visual and performing arts |
Livingstone College is more selective (59.3% vs 68.8% acceptance rate). Livingstone College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,479 vs $14,086). Chowan University reports the higher graduation rate (29.9% vs 28.2%). Livingstone College is the larger undergraduate campus (924 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Livingstone College vs Queens University of Charlotte
59.3% vs 62.1% acceptance rate
Livingstone College vs Mars Hill University
59.3% vs 67.9% acceptance rate
Livingstone College vs Montreat College
59.3% vs 69.2% acceptance rate
Livingstone College vs Mid-Atlantic Christian University
59.3% vs 62.2% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Livingstone College and Chowan University
Livingstone College has an acceptance rate of 59.3%; Chowan University is around 68.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Livingstone College tuition is $18,296/year. Chowan University is $27,910/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool