Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Macalester College and Crown College are both private nonprofit institutions — Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN and Crown College in Saint Bonifacius, MN. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Saint Paul, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: 28.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,131
Tuition: $68,104/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 87.1%
Top programs: Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Saint Paul, MN with published program strength in Social sciences and Biological sciences.
Saint Bonifacius, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: 22.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 796
Tuition: $31,410/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 45.4%
Top programs: Psychology, Business and marketing, Health professions
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Saint Bonifacius, MN with published program strength in Psychology and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Macalester College | Crown College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 28.5% | 22.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1350–1510 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 30–34 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,131 | 796 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $68,104/year | $31,410/year |
| Average net price after aid | $32,149 | $26,672 |
| Graduation rate | 87.1% | 45.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $63,878 | $48,057 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Saint Paul, MN | Saint Bonifacius, MN |
| Largest program areas | Social sciences, Biological sciences, Psychology | Psychology, Business and marketing, Health professions |
Crown College is more selective (22.8% vs 28.5% acceptance rate). Crown College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($26,672 vs $32,149). Macalester College reports the higher graduation rate (87.1% vs 45.4%). Macalester College is the larger undergraduate campus (2,131 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Macalester College vs Carleton College
28.5% vs 20.4% acceptance rate
Macalester College vs Bethany Lutheran College
28.5% vs 39.0% acceptance rate
Macalester College vs St Olaf College
28.5% vs 48.3% acceptance rate
Macalester College vs Minneapolis College of Art and Design
28.5% vs 48.5% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Macalester College and Crown College
Macalester College has an acceptance rate of 28.5%; Crown College is around 22.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Macalester College tuition is $68,104/year. Crown College is $31,410/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool