Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Maharishi International University and Upper Iowa University are both private nonprofit institutions — Maharishi International University in Fairfield, IA and Upper Iowa University in Fayette, IA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Fairfield, IA · Private
Acceptance rate: 95.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 922
Tuition: $16,530/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 50.0%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Fairfield, IA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Fayette, IA · Private
Acceptance rate: 96.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,994
Tuition: $19,475/year
Student-faculty ratio: 25.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Fayette, IA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | Maharishi International University | Upper Iowa University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 95.7% | 96.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1090 average |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 17–23 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 922 | 1,994 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $16,530/year | $19,475/year |
| Average net price after aid | $14,956 | $20,942 |
| Graduation rate | 50.0% | 33.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $27,981 | $52,766 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 13.0:1 | 25.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Fairfield, IA | Fayette, IA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Visual and performing arts | Business and marketing, Psychology, Education |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (95.7% vs 96.5%). Maharishi International University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($14,956 vs $20,942). Maharishi International University reports the higher graduation rate (50.0% vs 33.9%). Upper Iowa University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,994 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Maharishi International University vs Mercy College of Health Sciences
95.7% vs 99.7% acceptance rate
Maharishi International University vs Loras College
95.7% vs 99.9% acceptance rate
Maharishi International University vs Grand View University
95.7% vs 99.1% acceptance rate
Maharishi International University vs University of Dubuque
95.7% vs 88.6% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Maharishi International University and Upper Iowa University
Maharishi International University has an acceptance rate of 95.7%; Upper Iowa University is around 96.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Maharishi International University tuition is $16,530/year. Upper Iowa University is $19,475/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool