Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Maine College of Art & Design and Thomas College are both private nonprofit institutions — Maine College of Art & Design in Portland, ME and Thomas College in Waterville, ME. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Portland, ME · Private
Acceptance rate: 76.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 415
Tuition: $42,942/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 51.5%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Portland, ME with published program strength in Visual and performing arts.
Waterville, ME · Private
Acceptance rate: 96.3%
Undergrad enrollment: 647
Tuition: $31,824/year
Student-faculty ratio: 20.0:1
Graduation rate: 53.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Education, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Waterville, ME with published program strength in Business and marketing and Education.
| Factor | Maine College of Art & Design | Thomas College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 76.1% | 96.3% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 415 | 647 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $42,942/year | $31,824/year |
| Average net price after aid | $38,338 | $18,885 |
| Graduation rate | 51.5% | 53.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $40,778 | $44,991 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 8.0:1 | 20.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Portland, ME | Waterville, ME |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts | Business and marketing, Education, Security and law enforcement |
Maine College of Art & Design is more selective (76.1% vs 96.3% acceptance rate). Thomas College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($18,885 vs $38,338). Thomas College reports the higher graduation rate (53.7% vs 51.5%). Thomas College is the larger undergraduate campus (647 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Maine College of Art & Design vs College of the Atlantic
76.1% vs 70.2% acceptance rate
Maine College of Art & Design vs Saint Joseph's College of Maine
76.1% vs 83.5% acceptance rate
Maine College of Art & Design vs Husson University
76.1% vs 81.0% acceptance rate
Maine College of Art & Design vs University of Southern Maine
76.1% vs 79.2% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Maine College of Art & Design and Thomas College
Maine College of Art & Design has an acceptance rate of 76.1%; Thomas College is around 96.3%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Maine College of Art & Design tuition is $42,942/year. Thomas College is $31,824/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool