Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Massachusetts Maritime Academy and University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth are both public institutions — Massachusetts Maritime Academy in Buzzards Bay, MA and University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth in North Dartmouth, MA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Buzzards Bay, MA · Public
Acceptance rate: 94.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,395
Tuition: $23,722/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 74.1%
Top programs: Engineering, Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Buzzards Bay, MA with published program strength in Engineering and Security and law enforcement.
North Dartmouth, MA · Public
Acceptance rate: 90.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,221
Tuition: $32,567/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 52.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in North Dartmouth, MA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Massachusetts Maritime Academy | University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 94.7% | 90.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 1050–1270 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 26–30 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,395 | 5,221 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $23,722/year | $32,567/year |
| Average net price after aid | $21,582 | $20,927 |
| Graduation rate | 74.1% | 52.1% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $82,392 | $68,804 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 13.0:1 | 16.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Buzzards Bay, MA | North Dartmouth, MA |
| Largest program areas | Engineering, Security and law enforcement, Business and marketing | Business and marketing, Health professions, Social sciences |
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is more selective (90.6% vs 94.7% acceptance rate). University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,927 vs $21,582). Massachusetts Maritime Academy reports the higher graduation rate (74.1% vs 52.1%). University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is the larger undergraduate campus (5,221 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Massachusetts Maritime Academy vs Salem State University
94.7% vs 95.9% acceptance rate
Massachusetts Maritime Academy vs Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
94.7% vs 89.7% acceptance rate
Massachusetts Maritime Academy vs Lesley University
94.7% vs 96.9% acceptance rate
Massachusetts Maritime Academy vs Fitchburg State University
94.7% vs 86.9% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Massachusetts Maritime Academy and University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth
Massachusetts Maritime Academy has an acceptance rate of 94.7%; University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is around 90.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Massachusetts Maritime Academy tuition is $23,722/year. University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth is $32,567/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool