Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
McDaniel College and Mount St. Mary's University are both private nonprofit institutions — McDaniel College in Westminster, MD and Mount St. Mary's University in Emmitsburg, MD. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Westminster, MD · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,617
Tuition: $52,081/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 63.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Westminster, MD with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
Emmitsburg, MD · Private
Acceptance rate: 73.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,768
Tuition: $48,630/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 65.4%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Social sciences, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Emmitsburg, MD with published program strength in Business and marketing and Social sciences.
| Factor | McDaniel College | Mount St. Mary's University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 77.9% | 73.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1046–1280 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 19–27 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,617 | 1,768 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $52,081/year | $48,630/year |
| Average net price after aid | $21,916 | $22,655 |
| Graduation rate | 63.3% | 65.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $60,663 | $64,072 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 13.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Westminster, MD | Emmitsburg, MD |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Psychology, Social sciences | Business and marketing, Social sciences, Computer science |
Mount St. Mary's University is more selective (73.8% vs 77.9% acceptance rate). McDaniel College has a lower average net price after grant aid ($21,916 vs $22,655). Mount St. Mary's University reports the higher graduation rate (65.4% vs 63.3%). Mount St. Mary's University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,768 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between McDaniel College and Mount St. Mary's University
McDaniel College has an acceptance rate of 77.9%; Mount St. Mary's University is around 73.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
McDaniel College tuition is $52,081/year. Mount St. Mary's University is $48,630/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool