Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Milwaukee School of Engineering and Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design are both private nonprofit institutions — Milwaukee School of Engineering in Milwaukee, WI and Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design in Milwaukee, WI. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Milwaukee, WI · Private
Acceptance rate: 58.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,654
Tuition: $50,480/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 67.1%
Top programs: Engineering, Business and marketing, Computer science
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Milwaukee, WI with published program strength in Engineering and Business and marketing.
Milwaukee, WI · Private
Acceptance rate: 60.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 837
Tuition: $43,743/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 67.0%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Architecture
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Milwaukee, WI with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Architecture.
| Factor | Milwaukee School of Engineering | Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 58.9% | 60.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 27 average | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,654 | 837 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $50,480/year | $43,743/year |
| Average net price after aid | $22,453 | $26,541 |
| Graduation rate | 67.1% | 67.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $89,070 | $41,174 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Milwaukee, WI | Milwaukee, WI |
| Largest program areas | Engineering, Business and marketing, Computer science | Visual and performing arts, Architecture |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (58.9% vs 60.5%). Milwaukee School of Engineering has a lower average net price after grant aid ($22,453 vs $26,541). Both report a similar graduation rate (67.1%). Milwaukee School of Engineering is the larger undergraduate campus (2,654 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Milwaukee School of Engineering vs Lawrence University
58.9% vs 63.9% acceptance rate
Milwaukee School of Engineering vs Carroll University
58.9% vs 66.8% acceptance rate
Milwaukee School of Engineering vs Beloit College
58.9% vs 63.0% acceptance rate
Milwaukee School of Engineering vs Mount Mary University
58.9% vs 62.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Milwaukee School of Engineering and Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design
Milwaukee School of Engineering has an acceptance rate of 58.9%; Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is around 60.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Milwaukee School of Engineering tuition is $50,480/year. Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is $43,743/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool