Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Montana State University-Northern and Rocky Mountain College are both public institutions — Montana State University-Northern in Havre, MT and Rocky Mountain College in Billings, MT. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Havre, MT · Public
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 761
Tuition: $21,875/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 41.1%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Havre, MT with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Billings, MT · Private
Acceptance rate: 69.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 840
Tuition: $35,582/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 48.4%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Psychology, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Billings, MT with published program strength in Business and marketing and Psychology.
| Factor | Montana State University-Northern | Rocky Mountain College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 69.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 893–1133 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 18–24 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 761 | 840 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $21,875/year | $35,582/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,664 | $19,751 |
| Graduation rate | 41.1% | 48.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $49,505 | $49,036 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 13.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Havre, MT | Billings, MT |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education | Business and marketing, Psychology, Biological sciences |
Montana State University-Northern has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,664 vs $19,751). Rocky Mountain College reports the higher graduation rate (48.4% vs 41.1%). Rocky Mountain College is the larger undergraduate campus (840 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Montana State University-Northern vs The University of Montana-Western
Not reported vs 99.8% acceptance rate
Montana State University-Northern vs Montana Technological University
Not reported vs 91.0% acceptance rate
Montana State University-Northern vs Montana State University Billings
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
Montana State University-Northern vs Carroll College
Not reported vs 70.9% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Montana State University-Northern and Rocky Mountain College
Montana State University-Northern has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Rocky Mountain College is around 69.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Montana State University-Northern tuition is $21,875/year. Rocky Mountain College is $35,582/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool