Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
National University and Chapman University are both private nonprofit institutions — National University in San Diego, CA and Chapman University in Orange, CA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
San Diego, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 10,794
Tuition: $13,284/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 42.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in San Diego, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Orange, CA · Private
Acceptance rate: 65.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 7,478
Tuition: $64,984/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 81.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Visual and performing arts, Communication
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Orange, CA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Visual and performing arts.
| Factor | National University | Chapman University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 65.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1260–1440 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 28–31 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 10,794 | 7,478 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $13,284/year | $64,984/year |
| Average net price after aid | $22,878 | $46,555 |
| Graduation rate | 42.9% | 81.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $67,548 | $70,070 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | San Diego, CA | Orange, CA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Psychology | Business and marketing, Visual and performing arts, Communication |
National University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($22,878 vs $46,555). Chapman University reports the higher graduation rate (81.9% vs 42.9%). National University is the larger undergraduate campus (10,794 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
National University vs California Baptist University
Not reported vs 84.9% acceptance rate
National University vs Stanford University
Not reported vs 3.6% acceptance rate
National University vs Loyola Marymount University
Not reported vs 45.1% acceptance rate
National University vs Santa Clara University
Not reported vs 48.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between National University and Chapman University
National University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Chapman University is around 65.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
National University tuition is $13,284/year. Chapman University is $64,984/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool