Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Newman University and Southwestern College are both private nonprofit institutions — Newman University in Wichita, KS and Southwestern College in Winfield, KS. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Wichita, KS · Private
Acceptance rate: 74.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 851
Tuition: $35,500/year
Student-faculty ratio: 16.0:1
Graduation rate: 52.8%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Wichita, KS with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Winfield, KS · Private
Acceptance rate: 75.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 924
Tuition: $39,822/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 35.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Winfield, KS with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
| Factor | Newman University | Southwestern College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 74.0% | 75.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 21 average | 19 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 851 | 924 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $35,500/year | $39,822/year |
| Average net price after aid | $19,971 | $29,824 |
| Graduation rate | 52.8% | 35.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $55,041 | $55,646 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 16.0:1 | 10.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Wichita, KS | Winfield, KS |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Education | Business and marketing, Computer science, Psychology |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (74.0% vs 75.5%). Newman University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($19,971 vs $29,824). Newman University reports the higher graduation rate (52.8% vs 35.7%). Southwestern College is the larger undergraduate campus (924 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Newman University vs Kansas Wesleyan University
74.0% vs 71.9% acceptance rate
Newman University vs McPherson College
74.0% vs 76.8% acceptance rate
Newman University vs MidAmerica Nazarene University
74.0% vs 78.8% acceptance rate
Newman University vs Ottawa University-Ottawa
74.0% vs 83.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Newman University and Southwestern College
Newman University has an acceptance rate of 74.0%; Southwestern College is around 75.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Newman University tuition is $35,500/year. Southwestern College is $39,822/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool