Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science and Alfred University are both private nonprofit institutions — Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science in Paul Smiths, NY and Alfred University in Alfred, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Paul Smiths, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 76.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 579
Tuition: $33,009/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 50.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Paul Smiths, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
Alfred, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 73.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,423
Tuition: $41,500/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.0%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Engineering, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Alfred, NY with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Engineering.
| Factor | Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science | Alfred University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 76.5% | 73.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1095–1310 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 24–29 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 579 | 1,423 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $33,009/year | $41,500/year |
| Average net price after aid | $26,683 | $25,620 |
| Graduation rate | 50.5% | 57.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $46,145 | $54,897 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 9.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Paul Smiths, NY | Alfred, NY |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Security and law enforcement | Visual and performing arts, Engineering, Business and marketing |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (76.5% vs 73.8%). Alfred University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($25,620 vs $26,683). Alfred University reports the higher graduation rate (57.0% vs 50.5%). Alfred University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,423 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science vs Elmira College
76.5% vs 77.0% acceptance rate
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science vs Talmudical Seminary Oholei Torah
76.5% vs 77.2% acceptance rate
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science vs Yeshiva Kollel Tifereth Elizer
76.5% vs 73.7% acceptance rate
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science vs Mesivta Torah Vodaath Rabbinical Seminary
76.5% vs 80.0% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science and Alfred University
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science has an acceptance rate of 76.5%; Alfred University is around 73.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science tuition is $33,009/year. Alfred University is $41,500/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool