Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Portland State University and Southern Oregon University are both public institutions — Portland State University in Portland, OR and Southern Oregon University in Ashland, OR. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Portland, OR · Public
Acceptance rate: 90.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 13,182
Tuition: $31,074/year
Student-faculty ratio: 17.0:1
Graduation rate: 52.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Social sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Portland, OR with published program strength in Business and marketing and Social sciences.
Ashland, OR · Public
Acceptance rate: 88.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,751
Tuition: $31,887/year
Student-faculty ratio: 23.0:1
Graduation rate: 42.5%
Top programs: Psychology, Business and marketing, Communication
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Ashland, OR with published program strength in Psychology and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Portland State University | Southern Oregon University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 90.9% | 88.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 21 average | 22 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 13,182 | 2,751 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $31,074/year | $31,887/year |
| Average net price after aid | $9,552 | $16,732 |
| Graduation rate | 52.7% | 42.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $57,906 | $49,175 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 17.0:1 | 23.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Portland, OR | Ashland, OR |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Social sciences, Psychology | Psychology, Business and marketing, Communication |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (90.9% vs 88.6%). Portland State University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($9,552 vs $16,732). Portland State University reports the higher graduation rate (52.7% vs 42.5%). Portland State University is the larger undergraduate campus (13,182 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Portland State University vs University of Oregon
90.9% vs 88.3% acceptance rate
Portland State University vs Oregon Institute of Technology
90.9% vs 95.0% acceptance rate
Portland State University vs University of Portland
90.9% vs 89.2% acceptance rate
Portland State University vs Western Oregon University
90.9% vs 98.1% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Portland State University and Southern Oregon University
Portland State University has an acceptance rate of 90.9%; Southern Oregon University is around 88.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Portland State University tuition is $31,074/year. Southern Oregon University is $31,887/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool