Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Saint Joseph's College of Maine and Maine College of Art & Design are both private nonprofit institutions — Saint Joseph's College of Maine in Standish, ME and Maine College of Art & Design in Portland, ME. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Standish, ME · Private
Acceptance rate: 83.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 964
Tuition: $44,420/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 65.7%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Standish, ME with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Portland, ME · Private
Acceptance rate: 76.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 415
Tuition: $42,942/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 51.5%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Portland, ME with published program strength in Visual and performing arts.
| Factor | Saint Joseph's College of Maine | Maine College of Art & Design |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 83.5% | 76.1% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 960–1150 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 964 | 415 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $44,420/year | $42,942/year |
| Average net price after aid | $27,555 | $38,338 |
| Graduation rate | 65.7% | 51.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $59,045 | $40,778 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 8.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Standish, ME | Portland, ME |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences | Visual and performing arts |
Maine College of Art & Design is more selective (76.1% vs 83.5% acceptance rate). Saint Joseph's College of Maine has a lower average net price after grant aid ($27,555 vs $38,338). Saint Joseph's College of Maine reports the higher graduation rate (65.7% vs 51.5%). Saint Joseph's College of Maine is the larger undergraduate campus (964 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Saint Joseph's College of Maine vs Husson University
83.5% vs 81.0% acceptance rate
Saint Joseph's College of Maine vs University of New England
83.5% vs 91.6% acceptance rate
Saint Joseph's College of Maine vs Thomas College
83.5% vs 96.3% acceptance rate
Saint Joseph's College of Maine vs University of Southern Maine
83.5% vs 79.2% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Saint Joseph's College of Maine and Maine College of Art & Design
Saint Joseph's College of Maine has an acceptance rate of 83.5%; Maine College of Art & Design is around 76.1%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Saint Joseph's College of Maine tuition is $44,420/year. Maine College of Art & Design is $42,942/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool