Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota and Saint Johns University are both private nonprofit institutions — Saint Mary's University of Minnesota in Winona, MN and Saint Johns University in Collegeville, MN. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Winona, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: 92.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,073
Tuition: $45,080/year
Student-faculty ratio: 18.0:1
Graduation rate: 66.0%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Winona, MN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Collegeville, MN · Private
Acceptance rate: 90.6%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,395
Tuition: $55,816/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 75.4%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Collegeville, MN with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
| Factor | Saint Mary's University of Minnesota | Saint Johns University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 92.8% | 90.6% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 941–1228 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 21–27 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,073 | 1,395 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $45,080/year | $55,816/year |
| Average net price after aid | $11,704 | $25,672 |
| Graduation rate | 66.0% | 75.4% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $58,170 | $76,786 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 18.0:1 | 12.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Winona, MN | Collegeville, MN |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Social sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (92.8% vs 90.6%). Saint Mary's University of Minnesota has a lower average net price after grant aid ($11,704 vs $25,672). Saint Johns University reports the higher graduation rate (75.4% vs 66.0%). Saint Johns University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,395 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota vs University of Northwestern-St Paul
92.8% vs 93.5% acceptance rate
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota vs College of Saint Benedict
92.8% vs 91.5% acceptance rate
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota vs The College of Saint Scholastica
92.8% vs 93.0% acceptance rate
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota vs Herzing University-Minneapolis
92.8% vs 93.8% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Saint Mary's University of Minnesota and Saint Johns University
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota has an acceptance rate of 92.8%; Saint Johns University is around 90.6%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota tuition is $45,080/year. Saint Johns University is $55,816/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool