Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Salem University and Bluefield State University are both private for-profit institutions — Salem University in Salem, WV and Bluefield State University in Bluefield, WV. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Salem, WV · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 892
Tuition: $11,900/year
Student-faculty ratio: 19.0:1
Graduation rate: 19.9%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Salem, WV with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Bluefield, WV · Public
Acceptance rate: 97.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,042
Tuition: $18,376/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: 37.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Bluefield, WV with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Salem University | Bluefield State University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | Not reported | 97.2% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 870–1080 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 17–22 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 892 | 1,042 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $11,900/year | $18,376/year |
| Average net price after aid | $12,303 | $13,684 |
| Graduation rate | 19.9% | 37.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $34,642 | $38,217 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 19.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private for-profit | Public |
| Location | Salem, WV | Bluefield, WV |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Security and law enforcement | Health professions, Business and marketing, Education |
Salem University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($12,303 vs $13,684). Bluefield State University reports the higher graduation rate (37.0% vs 19.9%). Bluefield State University is the larger undergraduate campus (1,042 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Salem University vs West Virginia Wesleyan College
Not reported vs 93.3% acceptance rate
Salem University vs West Virginia University Institute of Technology
Not reported vs 36.7% acceptance rate
Salem University vs Strayer University-West Virginia
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
Salem University vs Glenville State University
Not reported vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Salem University and Bluefield State University
Salem University has an acceptance rate of Not reported; Bluefield State University is around 97.2%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Salem University tuition is $11,900/year. Bluefield State University is $18,376/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool