Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Sarah Lawrence College and St. John Fisher University are both private nonprofit institutions — Sarah Lawrence College in Bronxville, NY and St. John Fisher University in Rochester, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Bronxville, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 61.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,530
Tuition: $66,862/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 71.3%
Top programs: Program mix not reported
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Bronxville, NY with published program strength in Program mix not reported.
Rochester, NY · Private
Acceptance rate: 66.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,565
Tuition: $41,190/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 74.2%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Rochester, NY with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Sarah Lawrence College | St. John Fisher University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 61.7% | 66.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1240–1430 |
| 1120–1300 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 28–31 | 23–28 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,530 | 2,565 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $66,862/year | $41,190/year |
| Average net price after aid | $41,437 | $28,945 |
| Graduation rate | 71.3% | 74.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $53,603 | $66,944 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Bronxville, NY | Rochester, NY |
| Largest program areas | Program mix not reported | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences |
Sarah Lawrence College is more selective (61.7% vs 66.4% acceptance rate). St. John Fisher University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($28,945 vs $41,437). St. John Fisher University reports the higher graduation rate (74.2% vs 71.3%). St. John Fisher University is the larger undergraduate campus (2,565 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Sarah Lawrence College vs Hobart William Smith Colleges
61.7% vs 64.0% acceptance rate
Sarah Lawrence College vs Dominican University New York
61.7% vs 63.3% acceptance rate
Sarah Lawrence College vs Touro University
61.7% vs 60.8% acceptance rate
Sarah Lawrence College vs Daemen University
61.7% vs 68.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Sarah Lawrence College and St. John Fisher University
Sarah Lawrence College has an acceptance rate of 61.7%; St. John Fisher University is around 66.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Sarah Lawrence College tuition is $66,862/year. St. John Fisher University is $41,190/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool