Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Seattle University and University of Washington-Tacoma Campus are both private nonprofit institutions — Seattle University in Seattle, WA and University of Washington-Tacoma Campus in Tacoma, WA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Seattle, WA · Private
Acceptance rate: 76.9%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,062
Tuition: $56,721/year
Student-faculty ratio: 10.0:1
Graduation rate: 75.5%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Seattle, WA with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
Tacoma, WA · Public
Acceptance rate: 82.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 4,185
Tuition: $43,404/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 63.2%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Tacoma, WA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
| Factor | Seattle University | University of Washington-Tacoma Campus |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 76.9% | 82.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1200–1430 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 23–30 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 4,062 | 4,185 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $56,721/year | $43,404/year |
| Average net price after aid | $34,662 | $10,163 |
| Graduation rate | 75.5% | 63.2% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $75,272 | $78,466 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 10.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Public |
| Location | Seattle, WA | Tacoma, WA |
| Largest program areas | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences | Business and marketing, Computer science, Psychology |
Seattle University is more selective (76.9% vs 82.5% acceptance rate). University of Washington-Tacoma Campus has a lower average net price after grant aid ($10,163 vs $34,662). Seattle University reports the higher graduation rate (75.5% vs 63.2%). University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is the larger undergraduate campus (4,185 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Seattle University vs Pacific Lutheran University
76.9% vs 78.0% acceptance rate
Seattle University vs Gonzaga University
76.9% vs 81.7% acceptance rate
Seattle University vs University of Puget Sound
76.9% vs 72.3% acceptance rate
Seattle University vs Seattle Pacific University
76.9% vs 83.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Seattle University and University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
Seattle University has an acceptance rate of 76.9%; University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is around 82.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Seattle University tuition is $56,721/year. University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is $43,404/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool