Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Shaw University and Lees-McRae College are both private nonprofit institutions — Shaw University in Raleigh, NC and Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, NC. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Raleigh, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 80.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 875
Tuition: $17,538/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 21.8%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Computer science, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Raleigh, NC with published program strength in Business and marketing and Computer science.
Banner Elk, NC · Private
Acceptance rate: 76.8%
Undergrad enrollment: 873
Tuition: $33,250/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 42.1%
Top programs: Biological sciences, Business and marketing, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Banner Elk, NC with published program strength in Biological sciences and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Shaw University | Lees-McRae College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 80.2% | 76.8% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 23 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 875 | 873 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $17,538/year | $33,250/year |
| Average net price after aid | $16,512 | $28,340 |
| Graduation rate | 21.8% | 42.1% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $34,409 | $43,415 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Raleigh, NC | Banner Elk, NC |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Computer science, Psychology | Biological sciences, Business and marketing, Education |
Lees-McRae College is more selective (76.8% vs 80.2% acceptance rate). Shaw University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,512 vs $28,340). Lees-McRae College reports the higher graduation rate (42.1% vs 21.8%). Shaw University is the larger undergraduate campus (875 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Shaw University and Lees-McRae College
Shaw University has an acceptance rate of 80.2%; Lees-McRae College is around 76.8%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Shaw University tuition is $17,538/year. Lees-McRae College is $33,250/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool