Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Shenandoah University and Patrick Henry College are both private nonprofit institutions — Shenandoah University in Winchester, VA and Patrick Henry College in Purcellville, VA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Winchester, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 2,116
Tuition: $36,950/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 66.8%
Top programs: Visual and performing arts, Health professions, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Winchester, VA with published program strength in Visual and performing arts and Health professions.
Purcellville, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 77.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 395
Tuition: $28,425/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 73.9%
Top programs: Social sciences, Communication, Business and marketing
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Purcellville, VA with published program strength in Social sciences and Communication.
| Factor | Shenandoah University | Patrick Henry College |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 77.0% | 77.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1240–1420 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 27–33 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 2,116 | 395 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $36,950/year | $28,425/year |
| Average net price after aid | $30,298 | Not reported |
| Graduation rate | 66.8% | 73.9% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $58,433 | Not reported |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Winchester, VA | Purcellville, VA |
| Largest program areas | Visual and performing arts, Health professions, Business and marketing | Social sciences, Communication, Business and marketing |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (77.0% vs 77.4%). Patrick Henry College reports the higher graduation rate (73.9% vs 66.8%). Shenandoah University is the larger undergraduate campus (2,116 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Shenandoah University vs Virginia Wesleyan University
77.0% vs 72.9% acceptance rate
Shenandoah University vs Roanoke College
77.0% vs 83.1% acceptance rate
Shenandoah University vs Sweet Briar College
77.0% vs 75.5% acceptance rate
Shenandoah University vs Emory & Henry University
77.0% vs 83.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Shenandoah University and Patrick Henry College
Shenandoah University has an acceptance rate of 77.0%; Patrick Henry College is around 77.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Shenandoah University tuition is $36,950/year. Patrick Henry College is $28,425/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool