Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Simpson College and Mount Mercy University are both private nonprofit institutions — Simpson College in Indianola, IA and Mount Mercy University in Cedar Rapids, IA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Indianola, IA · Private
Acceptance rate: 86.2%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,227
Tuition: $47,656/year
Student-faculty ratio: 12.0:1
Graduation rate: 63.3%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Indianola, IA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Cedar Rapids, IA · Private
Acceptance rate: 82.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,107
Tuition: $40,878/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 57.7%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Cedar Rapids, IA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | Simpson College | Mount Mercy University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 86.2% | 82.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1440 average |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 31–33 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,227 | 1,107 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $47,656/year | $40,878/year |
| Average net price after aid | $21,936 | $20,168 |
| Graduation rate | 63.3% | 57.7% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $59,274 | $60,787 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 12.0:1 | 14.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Indianola, IA | Cedar Rapids, IA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Biological sciences | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education |
Mount Mercy University is more selective (82.5% vs 86.2% acceptance rate). Mount Mercy University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($20,168 vs $21,936). Simpson College reports the higher graduation rate (63.3% vs 57.7%). Simpson College is the larger undergraduate campus (1,227 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Common questions when choosing between Simpson College and Mount Mercy University
Simpson College has an acceptance rate of 86.2%; Mount Mercy University is around 82.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Simpson College tuition is $47,656/year. Mount Mercy University is $40,878/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool