Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
Southern Virginia University and Eastern Mennonite University are both private nonprofit institutions — Southern Virginia University in Buena Vista, VA and Eastern Mennonite University in Harrisonburg, VA. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Buena Vista, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 96.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 936
Tuition: $21,280/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Buena Vista, VA with published program strength in Business and marketing and Biological sciences.
Harrisonburg, VA · Private
Acceptance rate: 100.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 754
Tuition: $43,920/year
Student-faculty ratio: 9.0:1
Graduation rate: 67.0%
Top programs: Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Harrisonburg, VA with published program strength in Health professions and Business and marketing.
| Factor | Southern Virginia University | Eastern Mennonite University |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 96.4% | 100.0% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 22 average | 30 average |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 936 | 754 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $21,280/year | $43,920/year |
| Average net price after aid | $22,213 | $24,588 |
| Graduation rate | 33.5% | 67.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $50,002 | $54,869 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 9.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Buena Vista, VA | Harrisonburg, VA |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Biological sciences, Psychology | Health professions, Business and marketing, Biological sciences |
Southern Virginia University is more selective (96.4% vs 100.0% acceptance rate). Southern Virginia University has a lower average net price after grant aid ($22,213 vs $24,588). Eastern Mennonite University reports the higher graduation rate (67.0% vs 33.5%). Southern Virginia University is the larger undergraduate campus (936 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
Southern Virginia University vs Virginia Union University
96.4% vs 98.0% acceptance rate
Southern Virginia University vs Randolph College
96.4% vs 93.7% acceptance rate
Southern Virginia University vs Marymount University
96.4% vs 93.2% acceptance rate
Southern Virginia University vs Bridgewater College
96.4% vs 91.7% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between Southern Virginia University and Eastern Mennonite University
Southern Virginia University has an acceptance rate of 96.4%; Eastern Mennonite University is around 100.0%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
Southern Virginia University tuition is $21,280/year. Eastern Mennonite University is $43,920/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool