Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
St. John's College and University of the Southwest are both private nonprofit institutions — St. John's College in Santa Fe, NM and University of the Southwest in Hobbs, NM. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Santa Fe, NM · Private
Acceptance rate: 53.1%
Undergrad enrollment: 368
Tuition: $40,504/year
Student-faculty ratio: 8.0:1
Graduation rate: 54.9%
Top programs: Program mix not reported
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Santa Fe, NM with published program strength in Program mix not reported.
Hobbs, NM · Private
Acceptance rate: Not reported
Undergrad enrollment: 346
Tuition: $16,670/year
Student-faculty ratio: 21.0:1
Graduation rate: 17.0%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Biological sciences
Best for: Students who want a private campus in Hobbs, NM with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
| Factor | St. John's College | University of the Southwest |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 53.1% | Not reported |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1290–1460 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 28–34 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 368 | 346 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $40,504/year | $16,670/year |
| Average net price after aid | $26,674 | $16,927 |
| Graduation rate | 54.9% | 17.0% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $44,985 | $45,389 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 8.0:1 | 21.0:1 |
| Institution type | Private nonprofit | Private nonprofit |
| Location | Santa Fe, NM | Hobbs, NM |
| Largest program areas | Program mix not reported | Education, Business and marketing, Biological sciences |
University of the Southwest has a lower average net price after grant aid ($16,927 vs $26,674). St. John's College reports the higher graduation rate (54.9% vs 17.0%). St. John's College is the larger undergraduate campus (368 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
St. John's College vs New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
53.1% vs 44.5% acceptance rate
St. John's College vs Brookline College-Albuquerque
53.1% vs Not reported acceptance rate
St. John's College vs New Mexico Highlands University
53.1% vs Not reported acceptance rate
St. John's College vs Western New Mexico University
53.1% vs Not reported acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between St. John's College and University of the Southwest
St. John's College has an acceptance rate of 53.1%; University of the Southwest is around Not reported. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
St. John's College tuition is $40,504/year. University of the Southwest is $16,670/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool