Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
State University of New York at Plattsburgh and SUNY College at Potsdam are both public institutions — State University of New York at Plattsburgh in Plattsburgh, NY and SUNY College at Potsdam in Potsdam, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Plattsburgh, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 78.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,769
Tuition: $18,945/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 58.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Plattsburgh, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
Potsdam, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 77.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,823
Tuition: $18,678/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 45.3%
Top programs: Education, Visual and performing arts, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Potsdam, NY with published program strength in Education and Visual and performing arts.
| Factor | State University of New York at Plattsburgh | SUNY College at Potsdam |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 78.4% | 77.7% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 1080–1250 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | 22–28 | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 3,769 | 1,823 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $18,945/year | $18,678/year |
| Average net price after aid | $17,156 | $13,624 |
| Graduation rate | 58.5% | 45.3% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $56,403 | $47,866 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 15.0:1 | 11.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Plattsburgh, NY | Potsdam, NY |
| Largest program areas | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education | Education, Visual and performing arts, Social sciences |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (78.4% vs 77.7%). SUNY College at Potsdam has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,624 vs $17,156). State University of New York at Plattsburgh reports the higher graduation rate (58.5% vs 45.3%). State University of New York at Plattsburgh is the larger undergraduate campus (3,769 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
State University of New York at Plattsburgh vs SUNY at Fredonia
78.4% vs 77.7% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Plattsburgh vs State University of New York at Oswego
78.4% vs 80.5% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Plattsburgh vs SUNY at Purchase College
78.4% vs 74.1% acceptance rate
State University of New York at Plattsburgh vs SUNY Old Westbury
78.4% vs 83.6% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between State University of New York at Plattsburgh and SUNY College at Potsdam
State University of New York at Plattsburgh has an acceptance rate of 78.4%; SUNY College at Potsdam is around 77.7%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
State University of New York at Plattsburgh tuition is $18,945/year. SUNY College at Potsdam is $18,678/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool