Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
SUNY Buffalo State University and CUNY Graduate School and University Center are both public institutions — SUNY Buffalo State University in Buffalo, NY and CUNY Graduate School and University Center in New York, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Buffalo, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 73.0%
Undergrad enrollment: 5,097
Tuition: $19,653/year
Student-faculty ratio: 14.0:1
Graduation rate: 33.3%
Top programs: Education, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Buffalo, NY with published program strength in Education and Business and marketing.
New York, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 68.5%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,254
Tuition: $15,185/year
Student-faculty ratio: 13.0:1
Graduation rate: Not reported
Top programs: Health professions, Computer science, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in New York, NY with published program strength in Health professions and Computer science.
| Factor | SUNY Buffalo State University | CUNY Graduate School and University Center |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 73.0% | 68.5% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| 980–1240 |
| Not reported |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | Not reported |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 5,097 | 3,254 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $19,653/year | $15,185/year |
| Average net price after aid | $11,346 | Not reported |
| Graduation rate | 33.3% | Not reported |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $52,334 | $65,991 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 14.0:1 | 13.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Buffalo, NY | New York, NY |
| Largest program areas | Education, Business and marketing, Security and law enforcement | Health professions, Computer science, Social sciences |
CUNY Graduate School and University Center is more selective (68.5% vs 73.0% acceptance rate). SUNY Buffalo State University is the larger undergraduate campus (5,097 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
SUNY Buffalo State University vs SUNY Brockport
73.0% vs 70.7% acceptance rate
SUNY Buffalo State University vs SUNY at Purchase College
73.0% vs 74.1% acceptance rate
SUNY Buffalo State University vs SUNY Oneonta
73.0% vs 69.6% acceptance rate
SUNY Buffalo State University vs Pratt Institute-Main
73.0% vs 73.3% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between SUNY Buffalo State University and CUNY Graduate School and University Center
SUNY Buffalo State University has an acceptance rate of 73.0%; CUNY Graduate School and University Center is around 68.5%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
SUNY Buffalo State University tuition is $19,653/year. CUNY Graduate School and University Center is $15,185/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool