Loading…
Getting the next page ready.
SUNY College at Potsdam and State University of New York at Plattsburgh are both public institutions — SUNY College at Potsdam in Potsdam, NY and State University of New York at Plattsburgh in Plattsburgh, NY. This page compares published admission, cost, and outcome data from federal sources so you can see the tradeoffs before you add either school to your list.
Potsdam, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 77.7%
Undergrad enrollment: 1,823
Tuition: $18,678/year
Student-faculty ratio: 11.0:1
Graduation rate: 45.3%
Top programs: Education, Visual and performing arts, Social sciences
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Potsdam, NY with published program strength in Education and Visual and performing arts.
Plattsburgh, NY · Public
Acceptance rate: 78.4%
Undergrad enrollment: 3,769
Tuition: $18,945/year
Student-faculty ratio: 15.0:1
Graduation rate: 58.5%
Top programs: Business and marketing, Health professions, Education
Best for: Students who want a public campus in Plattsburgh, NY with published program strength in Business and marketing and Health professions.
| Factor | SUNY College at Potsdam | State University of New York at Plattsburgh |
|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 77.7% | 78.4% |
| SAT range (middle 50%) |
| Not reported |
| 1080–1250 |
| ACT range (middle 50%) | Not reported | 22–28 |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 1,823 | 3,769 |
| Out-of-state tuition | $18,678/year | $18,945/year |
| Average net price after aid | $13,624 | $17,156 |
| Graduation rate | 45.3% | 58.5% |
| Median earnings (10 years) | $47,866 | $56,403 |
| Student-faculty ratio | 11.0:1 | 15.0:1 |
| Institution type | Public | Public |
| Location | Potsdam, NY | Plattsburgh, NY |
| Largest program areas | Education, Visual and performing arts, Social sciences | Business and marketing, Health professions, Education |
Both schools admit a similar share of applicants (77.7% vs 78.4%). SUNY College at Potsdam has a lower average net price after grant aid ($13,624 vs $17,156). State University of New York at Plattsburgh reports the higher graduation rate (58.5% vs 45.3%). State University of New York at Plattsburgh is the larger undergraduate campus (3,769 students). Use the free side-by-side comparison tool to weigh cost, program fit, location, and outcomes for your own list — and verify deadlines and requirements with each college.
SUNY College at Potsdam vs SUNY at Fredonia
77.7% vs 77.7% acceptance rate
SUNY College at Potsdam vs SUNY Polytechnic Institute
77.7% vs 81.3% acceptance rate
SUNY College at Potsdam vs SUNY at Purchase College
77.7% vs 74.1% acceptance rate
SUNY College at Potsdam vs Clarkson University
77.7% vs 77.4% acceptance rate
Common questions when choosing between SUNY College at Potsdam and State University of New York at Plattsburgh
SUNY College at Potsdam has an acceptance rate of 77.7%; State University of New York at Plattsburgh is around 78.4%. Selectivity is only one factor — GPA, essays, major, and residency (for publics) all change the odds.
SUNY College at Potsdam tuition is $18,678/year. State University of New York at Plattsburgh is $18,945/year. Compare net price after aid, not sticker price — especially for private schools and out-of-state publics.
Use College Decider's free comparison tool at /compare — add both schools to see tuition, acceptance rates, graduation outcomes, and more in one table.
Add both schools to our free side-by-side comparison tool — tuition, outcomes, and more.
Open Comparison Tool